A good day on Suðuroy

Lanceolated Warbler

Lanceolated Warbler

It has been one of those days that just blow you mind. Yesterday I met with 11 Finnish birders and together we went to Suðuroy to do some weekend birding – but before that we managed to find two Yellow-browed on Vágar.

We started the day today at the north, where we checked Sandvík and Hvalba, but Yellow-browed, a few Chiffchaffs and Lesser Whitethroats were the most interesting birds along with a Ruff.

After a brief check in Trongisvágur we went to Fámjin – the small village of the western side of Suðuroy. It is an awesome place for rare birds and I’ve found rarities like Baird’s Sandpiper and Buff-bellied Pipit there.

Upon arrival I checked the first gardens just to find 2 Chiffchaffs, 1 Willow Warbler and 1 Lesser Whitethroat, and Harri Hollta managed to find 1 Yellow-browed and 1 Whinchat.

Lanceolated Warbler

Lanceolated Warbler

Then I decided to check the wheat along the road and quickly I flushed a small locustella. In spite of very brief views I was sure it had to be a locustella, so I called on the walkie and soon 11 excited Finns with their finnsticks were ready to look and photograph.

Lanceolated Warbler

Lanceolated Warbler

We quickly flushed the bird, but couldn’t get photos. So we flushed it again but views were always short and no photos could be obtained. At one point I got good views of the birds and noticed all the streaking on the breast and saying to Harri that it might be a lancey.

Lanceolated Warbler

Lanceolated Warbler

Then suddenly the bird was out in the open. It posed extremely well and many photos were obtained. But the bird looked long-tailed like a Common Gropper. But it was streaked like a Lancey. I sent the pic to Yann and asked: Lancey huh? And then got the reply: Why are you doing this to me… Yann checked with books and friends and soon a message came: Def Lancey! Thanks to Yann! And good luck on Heimey from Tuesday onwards.

Lanceolated Warbler

Lanceolated Warbler

After doing Fámjin we went to Sumba, and soon the Steller’s Eider was relocated. While people were checking the Steller’s Eider I checked the gardens, where I found a Blyth’s Reed Warbler close by. It is the 6th record for the Faroes and my 4th self-found.

Blyth's Reed Warbler

Blyth’s Reed Warbler

 

Blyth's Reed Warbler - banana pose

Blyth’s Reed Warbler – banana pose

Then we checked Akraberg, where the Finns went to get pictures of the landscape as I went to check the fields. Suddenly a Pectoral Sandpiper flies over my head. I managed to get some pics. Then I hurried back to the Finns to let them know, that I just found a Pectoral Sandpiper. So we got back to the place and relocated the bird just 30 meters away.

Blyth's Reed Warbler

Pec Sand

 

Pec Sand

Pec Sand

Well, a national first combined with Blyth’s Reed, Steller’s Eider and Pectoral Sandpiper… That is a good day on Suðuroy.

Steller's Eider female

Steller’s Eider female

Leave a comment