Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

Two days ago the kids, the wife and I went onboard Norröna – the ferry between Iceland, Faroes and Denmark. Our destination was Hirtshals in Denmark. After a great trip lasting 36 hours we arrived in Hirtshals.

A Siberian Accentor has been present there for more than a month and Danish birder Rasmus Strack had provided me with great maps showing where to look for the bird. Thanks, Rasmus.

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

While my wife took the kids to the famous aquarium in Hirtshals I went looking for the bird. Right upon arrival I met two birders, who had seen the bird earlier in the morning. There had been several people, who had been watching the bird, so they reckoned that there would still be people around.

So with much excitement I walked into the area, but couldn’t find neither bird nor birders. Well, I did see some Blue Tits, Great Tits, Bullfinches, Redpolls and other common stuff. I started to wonder if I was at the right spot, so I called Lars Paaby, who had seen the bird earlier in the day. It turned out that all the birders has left as the Siberian Accentor had moved on. But Lars gave me great details of where to look for the bird – so the remaining ingredients were hard work and luck.

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

As one hour turned into two hours I started to get a bit worried. At one point I found a Dunnock and later I caught a glimpse so “something” that looked very interesting in a shrubbery close to the main road. At one point Rune Sø Neergaard turned up. He had seen the bird on the day it was found, but such a jewel is worth seeing again. We decided to look for it together and I told him about the “something” that I had seen. So we went to check the are again and two Dunnocks and “something” gave brief views. The Dunnocks crossed the road and Rune followed them to see if there was more to be found and I stayed put at the original place.

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

After a short while Rune whistles. He had relocated the Siberian Accentor across the road. So I hurried over there and other birders were notified.

The bird was easily relocated and gave amazing views during the one hour that I spent with the bird. It was not shy at all, but just like Dunnocks it was just hard to find – much like a Lancey.

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor is probably the bird I’ve been looking for the most on the Faroes during the autumn, so it was great to finally see one even though it was in Denmark.

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

 

Siberian Accentor

Siberian Accentor

Silas

Leave a Reply

