Food birding

 

Kirkja on Fugloy

Kirkja on Fugloy

One of the things that really shock foreign birders is the fact, that I have permission to enter most good gardens on the Faroes. Frankly people just find it interesting if I ask if I can look for birds in their gardens. That would not be the case in most of Europe.

Svínoy and the ferry

Svínoy and the ferry

Yesterday I checked Fugloy – the easternmost island of the Faroes. And Hattavík is the easternmost village. It really is way out in nothing. There is not a single tree in the village, so it doesn’t keep most birds for long. But it is stunningly beautiful.

Hattarvík

Hattarvík

 

Hattarvík and fulmar

Hattarvík and fulmar

The other village on the island is Kirkja. It has a few gardens and can potentially offer great birding. But yesterday it was kinda wet and cold. So when the first villager invited me to eat and have a cup of coffee I accepted the invitation. It was nice sitting there in the 100 year old house chatting to Jógvan Páll. But after an hour I went birding.

Coffe at Jógvan Pálls place

Coffe at Jógvan Pálls place

But suddenly a window opened and the mayor of the village invited me to eat soup in her house. I accepted the invitation and when I entered the living room I found several other visitors including the pastor from Viðareiði. And the soup was not just soup. After the soup came locally produced meet, local potatoes and other good stuff – all perfectly cooked. And then a ton of chocolate and coffee afterwards.

After dinner at the Majors place

After dinner at the Mayors place

Well, I didn’t find any Pine Buntings or Siberian Accentors on Fugloy, but I really had a good time.

Coffee and cake at Eskilds place with the Great Tits in the garden

Coffee and cake at Eskilds place with the Great Tits in the garden

On the 1. November two Great Tits were seen in Klaksvík by Eskild Hansen in his garden. I went there today and as soon as I came Eskild invited me to drink coffee and eat cake while waiting for the birds to return to the feeder. So we had a lovely chat, loads of coffee and good cake. And then suddenly the Great Tits were there! It is the 6th record for the Faroes.

great-tit-a4

great-tit-a2

Great Tits

Great Tits

Silas Olofson

Leave a Reply

