Autumn is here

Willow Warbler

Willow Warbler

OK, I admit. I’ve been a little lazy with the blog. It has been a week since I returned from Turkey after spending a month there. But now we will stay on the Faroes for a least a year.

Lesser Whitethroat

Lesser Whitethroat

A few days ago I visited Svínoy. And it was obvious that autumn has arrived. I managed to find 12 Willow Warblers, which is not bad for the Faroes. Of course my target was a rare hippo, or a Greenish or Arctic Warbler, but that didn’t happen.

Barred Warbler

Barred Warbler

But besides the Willow Warblers, there were other birds around. One Chiffchaff, 2 Barred Warblers and a single Lesser Whitethroat were not bad.

Barred Warbler

Barred Warbler

But the highlight was a colourful Wood Warbler. It is was a true rarity it would be one of the most sought after I guess.

Wood Warbler

Wood Warbler

 

Wood Warbler

Wood Warbler

 

Wood Warbler and Willow Warbler

Wood Warbler and Willow Warbler

 

After Svínoy I’ve checked quite a few places, but apart from two more Barred Warblers, Willow Warblers, two Lesser Whitethroats, 2 Redpolls and 6 Ruffs nothing good has been around.

Redpoll

Redpoll

I also stumpled upon a ringed Lesser Black-backed Gull and a Pied Wagtails but that’s it.

Lesser Black-backed Gull

Lesser Black-backed Gull

 

White Wagtail

Pied Wagtail

So now I’m just waiting for the next arrival – be it east or west!

Silas

Leave a Reply

