Same as in Shetland

Yesterday I made the claim that the yesterdays Oriental Turtle Dove was different to the Shetland bird. This was based on comparison of different photos, where the Shetland bird appeared much more worn and dull.

Hugh Harrop contacted me this morning. He has been comparing the pictures more thoroughly and reached the conclusion that the bird on the Faroes is in deed the Shetland bird.

Comparison of the Shetland and Faroese Oriental Turtle Dove made by Hugh Harrop

Comparison of the Shetland and Faroese Oriental Turtle Dove made by Hugh Harrop

The pictures I used for comparison showed a soaking wet bird, which made the bird appear very differently than when it was dry like yesterday.

Thanks to Hugh for adding this new angle to the story.

Silas

One comment on “Same as in Shetland

  1. Stefan says:

    Hi I am an Icelandic birdwatcher and I am going to Faroe Islands on Monday. I would like to see the Oriental Turtle Dove, and hopefully she will decide to stay on. I would be grateful if you could provide me with more details information where to see it.

Leave a Reply

