Oriental Turtle Dove

Iceland Gull

Iceland Gull

 

Today I went to pick up a car in Tórshavn. On the way there I checked some areas and saw some ten Great Northern Divers, Little Auks and Slavonian Grebes. A few Iceland Gulls were also seen.

Oriental Turtle Dove

Oriental Turtle Dove

In Tórshavn I checked the plantation and soon I located an Turtle Dove-type. Yoav Perlman soon confirmed that it was an Oriental Turtle Dove as suspected. It was found at exactly the same place where the first national record was made in 2006. Thus this is the second for the islands and a new self-found species for me. Now a total of 93% of the species on my Faroese list are self-found. Now I badly need to find a Common Crane on my own…

Oriental Turtle Dove

Oriental Turtle Dove

 

Oriental Turtle Dove

Oriental Turtle Dove

The edge of the tail was white, so it looks like a ssp. Meena, just like the first record.

Oriental Turtle Dove - ssp. meena

Oriental Turtle Dove – ssp. meena

 

Oriental Turtle Dove

Oriental Turtle Dove

I discussed whether it could be the same bird as the one in Shetland with Steve Minton, who saw the Shetland bird. But the Shetland bird was much more worn, so it has to be a different bird.

Nólsoy

Nólsoy

Silas

Leave a Reply

