Magical Svínoy

 

Yellow-browed Warbler

Yellow-browed Warbler

After two days of stormy southeasterlies I went to Svínoy today. I had high hopes of mass arrivals (in Faroese standards) due to the weather situation.

Wood Warbler

Wood Warbler

As soon as I arrived with the ferry a Willow Warbler greeted me and while walking to the village two lapwings and an Iceland Gull were seen.

Hybrid Gull

Hybrid Gull

When I reached the first gardens it was obvious that many birds were around. So I checked the gardens:

4 Yellow-browed, 2 Lesser Whitethroats, 3 Barred Warblers, Common Nightingale still present, 20+ Bramblings, Chaffinch, 3 Chiffchaffs, 11 Blackcaps, 2 Goldcrests, 2 Robins, lots of Redwings, Common Rosefinch… And remember this is the Faroes. Crazy!

Common Nightingale

Common Nightingale

I then went to check adjacent fields and soon found a Richard’s Pipit – the second for the Faroes. It gave reasonable views and I got some usable photos.

Richards Pipit

Richards Pipit

 

Richards Pipit

Richards Pipit

Other birds included 20+ Common Snipes, Barn Swallow and a Pink-footed Goose.

Blackcap and two Chiffchaffs

Blackcap and two Chiffchaffs

 

Yellow-browed Warbler

Yellow-browed Warbler

Due to the weather the ferry came early so I didn’t have so much time as I could use. But it was amazing with all the birds present – the day only lacked a true mega…

Blackcap

Blackcap

Silas

Leave a Reply

