Pallas’ Gropper

Yellow-browed Warbler

Yellow-browed Warbler

The last few days have been a little quite due to bad weather. But there are lots of birds around. 20+ Yellow-browed Warblers, Garden Warblers, a few Barred Warblers, Chiffchaffs, Willow Warblers, Lesser Whitethroats – and a few days ago a juv. Turtle Dove was present in the plantation in Tórshavn.

Turtle Dove

Turtle Dove

Today I checked Viðareiði, where more Yellow-browed Warblers and a Common Swift were seen.

Common Swift

Common Swift

Then I headed to Àrnafirði. Close to the beach there is an area with garden angelica. While checking the area a very small warbler was foraging on th path. I was just 5 meters in front of me when I noticed it. I got it in the bins for less then 10 seconds – but yes! Pallas’ Grashopper Warbler! The second for the Faroes and my second!

The Sedge Warbler-looking face but with a little less obvious eye-brow, pale edges on tertials, striped back, warm reddish-brown rump and broad rounded tail. Quite soon it disappeared into the vegetation as I started fumbling with the camera.

Probably due to excitement I went closer, which only meant that I flushed the bird and it flew a few meters into more dense vegetation.

I waited for a while but it didn’t come out. The first bird in Svínoy actually flew out of the vegetation when flushed, so I hoped this bird would do the same. So I went closer, but nothing happened. I thought it had moved on but then it finally took off just one meter away from me – and now I even saw the faint white tips on the tail – which can be really tricky to see on the field.

I couldn’t follow the bird, as it went behind a fence and in spite of intense searching I couldn’t relocate the bird – and the wind also made birding harder and harder.

At least I have high hopes it will be around tomorrow.

Silas

Leave a Reply

