Svínoy strikes again

Wood Warbler - maybe the nicest phyl in the world!

Wood Warbler – maybe the nicest phyl in the world!

Today looked good for birding. No wind but cloudy and foggy. Much better than wind and rain – so the opportunity had to be used. And why not use it at my favorite location – Svínoy. The Fair Isle of the Faroes!

I took the early ferry from Hvannasund 100 meters from my house and arrived 20 minutes later at Svínoy. The first tree contained the first warbler – a Blackcap.

Chiffchaff (eastern type?)

Chiffchaff (eastern type)

Svínoy is bigger than Fair Isle, but many passerines seem to get attracted to the village. So I headed to the village to check the gardens.

It was good. Really good. Chiffchaffs, Willow Warblers, Blackcaps, Garden Warblers, Lesser Whitethroats and a single Common Rosefinch and a Wood Warbler were seen during the first few hours. In the bay a Great Northern Diver and two Grey Herons were present.

Great Northern Diver

Great Northern Diver

I then took a break and got something to eat. After sitting down for a bit I checked the central gardens again, and it was obvious that new birds had arrived. The first nice surprise was an Arctic Warbler. It gave amazing views and called right away – so nailing it was straight forward.

Arctic Warbler

Arctic Warbler

The record if the 6th for the Faroes and the third, that I have found.

Arctic Warbler

Arctic Warbler

Arctic Warbler

Arctic Warbler

I then decided to check the garden, where I found the Palla’s Grashopper Warbler a few years ago. But on the way there a bunting was flushed 5 meters away from me. It gave a tek call several times and showed a nice reddish-brown cheek.

Yes! Probable Little Bunting! I saw where it went down and went there. Soon I relocated it on a fence and got the details down. But just as I was working with the camera it flew of. I relocated it again further away a bit later, put just as I were about to push the trigger, a Merlin chased it away. Did it get it? I was not sure…

Little Bunting

Little Bunting

Bummer! That would not look good in a description to the danish rarity comittee when describing a national second (the first one was collected on a ship east of the Faroes 8 years ago).

Little Bunting

Little Bunting

I searched for it for more than an hour. Svínoy is pretty big and there are ditches, grass and meadows everywhere. And the ferry was leaving within limited time – hurry up and find that bird before deadline.

But the 5 minutes before deadline I relocated the bird and got some distant shots – yes! It is nailed!

Little Bunting

Little Bunting

I rushed through the village (seeing a few new warblers… uffff…) and reached the ferry in time to get back to Hvannasund.

All in all a brilliant day of birding had come to an end. What would Svínoy contain if checked daily? One can only wonder!

Silas

One comment on “Svínoy strikes again

  1. Ragnar Smith says:

    Sådan! Færøerne viser sit sindsyge potentiale, som hit-magnet

Leave a Reply

