Weekend birding

2nd winter Kumlien's Gull at Toftir

It is weekend and the fish factories are closed. It means that you don’t see the usual gatherings of gulls near the factories. But non the less I went to Eysturoy in order to check the harbours there.

I haven’t check these harbours since the invasion really began so I would expect most birds to be new. First I checked Fuglafirði. There was one single adult Iceland Gull present. Then I moved on to Norðagøta, where I found three Glaucous and one Iceland Gull. What? Where were the birds?

I then continued to the southern part of Eysturoy, and finally I had some luck. At Toftir I found 16 Iceland Gulls including two Kumlien’s Gulls. At the lake Toftavatn there were 24 Iceland Gulls including 4 Kumlien’s Gulls and in Runavík there were 32 Iceland Gulls icluding 5 Kumlien’s Gulls.

2nd winter Iceland and Glaucous for comparison

I then rushed to Eiði before it got dark and there I found 18 Iceland Gulls including 3 Kumlien’s Gulls.
There were also about 100 Iceland Gulls in Klaksvík, but I didn’t check then properly, so I do not count any of them as new birds – though some most likely were.

Very dark first winter Kumlien's Gull at Toftir

Adult Kumlien's Gull at Runavík

Another first winter that I'm not really sure of

2nd winter Kumlien's Gull at Runavík

2nd winter Kumlien's Gull at Eiði

Another 2nd winter Kumlien's Gull at Eiði

 

In Eysturoy there were 90 Iceland Gulls. 14 of these were obvious Kumlien’s Gulls. This indicates that the proportion of Kumlien’s Gulls compared to Iceland Gulls is rising at the moment. First it was between 5 and 10% – now it’s about 15 % on Eysturoy at least.

SiO

Leave a Reply

