To bean or not to bean!

Snow Bunting

I am not really that active right now when it comes to birding. The days are really short, the weather usually bad and the birds are few and far between. Yesterday I went shopping for christmas with my wife – i.e. holding the bags while she’s shopping. But I got my share as we did a 5 minutes stop i Kollafirði, where I found a flock of Snow Buntings.

Pale Herring Gull

Today it was quite windy, but I had to get out. First I checked Klaksvík, where a very pale first winter herring gull was roosting. A first winter rather darkish Iceland Gull ssp. glaucoides was at the catch and a second winter Glaucous Gull flew by further north.

Iceland Gull

I then checked Hvannasund and Viðareiði. The only good bird was a Bean Goose. It gave excellent views as long as I stayed in the car and I obtained some nice pics. I think this is the first Taiga Bean Goose this winter and the third ssp. fabalis ever for the Faroes. At least it was rather big and heavy and it had plenty of orange on the bill.

Taiga Bean Goose

Taiga Bean Goose

Taiga Bean Goose

Yesterday a man saw a raptor in Sørlarfirði, that was a bit smaller than a raven. It was seen in a small plantation (or actually just some tall trees covering some silos). Hopefully I’ll get the opportunity to go look for it sooner rather than later.

And Rodmund has seen a possible Black-throated Diver in Leynavatn, but he didn’t have time to check it properly.

SiO

2 comments on “To bean or not to bean!

  1. HHN says:

    Hi Silas
    Are you sure that this is a fabalis? I might be wrong but I think the bill proportions with heavy basis, and a overall impression of a rather heavy, shortish bill fits rossicus better. Also the neck look rather shortish and heavy, which is almost pink-footed goose-like. I would have expected a slimmer neck and a slimmer bill for a fabalis.
    The colour pattern on the bill varies on rossicus and not all with larger amount of orange on the bill is fabalis.
    Merry christmas to you and your family.

  2. birdingfaroes says:

    Hi Henrik!

    No, I’m not that sure. There have been about 10 bean geese around the Faroes since november and all of then have been “classic” tundra beans. This one kind of stood out of the rest due the amount of orange on the bill and the fact the it seemed heavy.

    But yes, you are right about the heavy bill structure and the fact that the neck does look shortish on theses images (but off course in depends to some extend on the birds posture).

    So let’s see what label the rarities committy choses for this bird 🙂

    Merry christmas to you and your family too!

    Silas

Leave a Reply

