Still waiting

Since my last post we have had some southeasterly wind and a whole lot of rain. Acturally it is the remnants of the hurricane Irene that has just kissed our rocks. Iceland has had some americans the last days, so I bet there are some around the Faroes too. But not in the northeast where I live.

Yesterday I was birding in Árnafirði for an hour, and a few common warblers had come in. So today I went to Svínoy once again. A willow warbler was greeting me as soon as I got of the ferry – it was fouraging in some grass in the middle of nowhere. That indicated what soon became evident. There were several warblers on the island, but they were scattered around ditches, grassy fields, streams and where ever they could find something. This makes birding a little more demanding as the island is rather big to cover on your own – it is in deed 3,6 times bigger than Fair Isle! So you have to do a whole lot of walking if you want to cover it by yourself – well, it is impossible!

When I came into the village I checked an area with some tall grass and flushed a warbler. It did not put on a show at first, but after a while I obtained good views. Reddish-brown over all colouration, long primary projection and jizz soon nailed it as a reed warbler – my first this autumn.

Laster a sparrowhawk flew by, but otherwise there was nothing much to write about. There were some 10 willow warblers, 2 wood warblers, reed warbler, 4 mealy redpolls, treepipit and a merlin.

When I came back from Svínoy I briefly checked Viðareiði. 3 barn swallows, a barred warbler and a willow warbler were the only migrants present.

All in all there were some birds around, but it starts to feel like that rarities just don’t show up. I guess I’m saving it all for october when two danish birders will join me for a month on intensive birding 🙂 But before ending up complaining I should think of others. Some days ago I chatted to a birding living in central London. Compared to him I am priviliged – it is almost impossible to find anything yourself there. And 11 barred warblers, 5 wood warblers, 6 common rosefinches, an osprey and a citrine wagtail in just two weeks is not that bad.

SiO

Leave a Reply

