Lesson learned

I’ve been back home for almost two weeks. My thought were that july couldn’t produce much. Normal migration is rather limited. Some shorebirds and stuff migrate, but that is pretty much it. The start of july did see a lot of easterly winds and that changed the situation as quite a few passerines turned up.

On the third I found the previously mentioned subalpine warbler. As I was in a hurry I only used some 20 minutes to get a few pics before leaving the garden. As with the scoter I was confident that the bird would be present the next day. But I didn’t learn the lesson that the scoter should have taught me. I used hours in the garden the next day, but the bird was gone. Fortunantly the few pics from the previous day were quite ok and I did hear the bird call several times giving a lesser whitethroat-like tek-tek-tek. Most often it was repeated in a row, but each tek was clearly seperatable. The bird was rather salmon-pink rather than brick-red, but I’ll let the danish rc to determin the subspecies.

The subalpine warbler was gone on the 4th, but no less than two common whitethroats were now present in the garden along with a icterine warbler, which only gave good views on one occation – and no pics were obtained.

I’ve also been to Svínoy and Viðareiði and the pattern is the same. A few willow warblers, chiffchaffs, some siskins (most on them 1cy), lesser whitethroats, two goldcrests and some barn swallows. These are quite good birds for july here and the numbers are surprising.

Yesterday I checked the ‘subalpine warbler-garden’ again and got brief views of a skulky warbler. Once again I had to use way to much time in the garden before I got a good picture. It turned out the be the 6th marsh warbler for the Faroes.

Today I went to look for the scoter once again, but I couldn’t find it. So it looks like I missed what can easily turn out the be the rarest bird on the Faroes in 2011.

One comment on “Lesson learned

  1. Chatterbirds says:

    I was hoping you would post an image of the scoter. Sorry to see that it has probably left the area. However, it looks as if you find something else of note every time you search for it!

Leave a Reply

